International Ice Hockey Federation

Rinne MVP

Rinne MVP

Two prizes for Finnish goalie

Published 26.05.2014 11:44 GMT+3 | Author Martin Merk
Rinne MVP
Finnish goalkeeper Pekka Rinne earns MVP and All-Star honours at the 2014 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship. Photo: Andre Ringuette / HHOF-IIHF Images
Finland’s Pekka Rinne was named Most Valuable Player (MVP) and All-Star goalie of the 2014 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship. 640,044 as new attendance record.

Rinne shone throughout the tournament although his save percentage went down to 92.83% after the 5-2 loss to Russia in the gold medal game. Rinne led the tournament in shutouts, three, and saves, 220.

Another goalkeeper with a great performance in Minsk, Russia’s Sergei Bobrovski, won another vote and was selected Best Goalkeeper by the Tournament Directorate. He led all goalkeepers with a 95.03% save percentage.

Team USA’s talented blueliner Seth Jones was named Best Defenceman and Russia’s Viktor Tikhonov Best Forward. Tikhonov, who celebrated his 26th birthday during the event, led all players in goals (8) and points (16).

Both feature as well on the All-Star Team that also includes Russia’s Anton Belov as second defender as well as forwards Sergei Plotnikov and Antoine Roussel. Roussel became the first Frenchman to feature on a World Championship All-Star Team.

The 2014 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship already set a new attendance record after the quarter-finals. 640,044 fans came to the 64 games for an average of 10,000 fans per match. The previous record was set by Prague and Ostrava in 2004 with 552,097 fans in 56 games. The two Czech cities will host the Worlds next year.

Most Valuable Player (selected by the media):
Pekka Rinne, Finland

Individual Awards (selected by the tournament directorate):
Best Goalkeeper: Sergei Bobrovski, Russia
Best Defenceman: Seth Jones, USA
Best Forward: Viktor Tikhonov, Russia

Continue reading

All-Star Team (selected by the media):
GK: Pekka Rinne, Finland
DE: Seth Jones, USA
DE: Anton Belov, Russia
FW: Sergei Plotnikov, Russia
FW: Viktor Tikhonov, Russia
FW: Antoine Roussel, France


Back to Overview

Official Partners 2014 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship